(A Brief) Manifesto

I’ve always wanted to write one of these. I don’t know what stopped me. Maybe I thought they were just for lunatics… This is gonna be fun.

I don’t believe in mistakes. And I’m not talking about little things, like making a right turn instead of a left. I mean huge life stuff. There’s zero point. If you hurt yourself in any way, or hurt someone else, that might be an exception, but this is your life, and there’s no point in regretting anything. There’s nothing you can do about most of it, right? Grow up. I didn’t finish college, I’ve done a lot of stupid stuff, and maybe I ate too much chocolate yesterday. So what? I love my life. No one can tell me what’s right for me. I already know. Ram Dass wrote a book called “Be Here Now” (which may or may not have something to do with psychedelics). Either way, it’s great advice. And if you can’t get over yourself and your crappy life choices, don’t worry, I do believe you’ll have thousands of lives to make things right.

Music can actually save your soul. I’m talking about that music you go to that speaks to you like nothing else, the music you listen to when you just need to feel like yourself. For me it’s Pink Floyd, probably because it’s the most exquisite art rock ever created. I can’t even believe those English blokes came up with that unbelievable sound. It’s above us all. If I could open my consciousness up and be inspired like that, I’d be the most prolific, beautiful writer in the world. I wish. Maybe I do need to take some acid. Perfect example why the 70’s ruled (for the music, not the drugs, but they may have helped).

The power of words is real. I believe in mantra, out loud, in Sanskrit. Why? Because it’s been a devotional healing tool for, oh, I don’t know, over five thousand years? George Harrison and ten million Hindus can’t be wrong, ya know. Try it. The literature tells us when you chant His Holy Name, Lord Krishna is dancing on your tongue. I might be just a white girl from pleasant West L.A., but I’m going for Enlightenment with a capital E, Baby. I’m going all the way.

Being a decent person is important. Don’t walk around being a shithead to people. Shakespeare: “Lillies that fester smell far worse than weeds.” Think about that, bitchy girlsEveryone deserves dignity, so stop judging the dirty homeless guy on the freeway off ramp. He’s your brother in this life.

EBay is addicting. So is rock candy, Scrabble, and yoga.

Be good to yourself. Don’t call yourself fat, ugly, or stupid. Even if it’s true. Why create any more suffering for yourself in this life than you already have? Negative thoughts go way further than anything else, by the way. This is a scientific fact. Julia Roberts, Pretty Woman: “The bad stuff is easier to believe.” WTF? Smile, because you’re reading this, and chances are you’re spending some idle time of blog surfing, and maybe you feel like a lazy slob, not getting anything done, but maybe that’s what makes you happy. Let the gays get married, let people smoke pot, let The Church Of Satan do what they want. Let everyone be free. Stop wasting time and be happy.

Finally, if you have a dog, tell him you love him, give him a big hug and lots of love,and take him out on a long walk. Right now. Get some sun. Frolic. That’s what I’m going to do. ♥ ♥ ♥

Published by

Anne Clendening ♥

Anne Clendening is an L.A. chick, born and raised. She is a writer of creative nonfiction and other sordid tales of life, love and other L.A. adventures.

Tell me you dig it.

