Sometimes You Don’t Feel Like Spilling Your Guts Out. And Sometimes You Do.

Jackson Pollock’s No. 5, 1948

As if I haven’t been upset enough about putting my dog to sleep last week, I decided to dig a little deeper this time, and offer up something a little more gutsy. Fuck it, right? When you’re in that moment, the one where your emotions are so raw and confused, that’s the time to write.

So this morning I posted “How Yoga Broke Me Open & Revealed A Beautiful Mess of a Masterpiece.” It started off with something about gagging on the crappy shit we all go through, which makes sense considering image of the the Jackson Pollock painting. Before long, I got to the truth.

That painting always fascinated me. All that pain is actually worth $140 million dollars.

Death is a part of life. Same with heartbreak, emotional anguish, disharmony, dishonesty and confusion. There’s been so many little deaths. But as bad as that all sucks, there’s also undeniable beauty and grace and love all around. Sometimes you feel all of them in the same moment. And that’s what dogs are so great for; my Shamus, with his sensitive little soul made it all OK, like an angel on my shoulder murmuring “I’m here, I’m here…”

It’s almost the new year. I hope you’re happy and free, with a ton of laughter and love in your life. And maybe you have a dog by your side, a good friend with a sweet spirit, unconditional love and a plenty of bones to chew.

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by

Anne Clendening ♥

Anne Clendening is an L.A. chick, born and raised. She is a writer of creative nonfiction and other sordid tales of life, love and other L.A. adventures.

4 thoughts on “Sometimes You Don’t Feel Like Spilling Your Guts Out. And Sometimes You Do.”

  1. You know, I love how you write… The way it is in your head and in your heart.. And I’m so sorry about your dog. I have a wonderous creature by my side too and he also shows me the wonders of love that only a dog can show… But it’s important to remember that the love and support and loyalty you feel and felt towards your adorable pooch was a mirror image of what he felt towards you and you should carry this in your heart forever… Thank you for making me teary again :) much love and luck and happiness for 2014 <3

Tell me you dig it.

