Love, Death & Life.

b79f0e84d961ef1376b3560644bd0ce2

I had been meaning to write There’s An Angel On My Shoulder, Murmuring “I’m Here… I’m Here…” for my column on elephant ever since last year after my mother passed away. Subtitle: “Everyone Dies.” Sad, but true.

Death is a part of life. And after you lose someone close to you, the meaning of it all becomes clear. It’s so simple:

Be good to the people you love, without limits or deadlines, and without a reason.

Let them be good to you. They want to see you smile and laugh.

Be vulnerable, be ridiculous and have an open heart. It makes the world a better place.

Tell the people who are close to you how much you love them, out loud. You never know if it’s the last time you’ll see them.

Turn the music up and dance. 

It’s almost 8 o’clock on a Sunday evening, and we just got home from spreading my dog’s ashes in the ocean. Did you know it’s illegal? It’s considered littering. Whatever.

We were at the same spot where we let go of my parents ashes. And I thought about what I wrote about my mother:

“When we spread her ashes in the ocean, I saw the most breathtaking thing I had ever seen: it was dusk, and the moment those ashes hit the water the sky turned a brilliant, unbelievable shade of crimson red, the undeniable color of passion.

It was just a for minute or so. And my 13 year old niece said, ‘look! she’s back together with Grandpa!’”

IMG_7570 

As you can see, I wasn’t exaggerating.

I’m keeping it short and sweet tonight. My husband is waiting for me to fix dinner with him. Soon enough I’ll be writing about love again, true, authentic, crazy love, my absolute thing to write about. What else is there?

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by

Anne Clendening ♥

Anne Clendening is an L.A. chick, born and raised. She is a writer of creative nonfiction and other sordid tales of life, love and other L.A. adventures.

2 thoughts on “Love, Death & Life.”

    1. Thank you so much for reading David! And for your comment… A little part of my soul left with my dog, not to mention everyone else. Here’s wishing peace and light to all :-)

Tell me you dig it.

