Yoga: The New Punk Rock. (And, Perhaps The Old Black. We’re Bringing it Back.)

Rolling Stones

This is day 6 of 30. 

Yoga: The New Punk Rock. (And, Perhaps The Old Black. We’re Bringing it Back.)

***

I TOTALLY ADMIT IT: I’M AFRAID OF GETTING OLD.

Thank the gods for yoga. Looks like I have many lives to be young again, and get old again.

GerontophobiaThe fear of growing old. This unreasonable fear is associated with the fact that someday you will grow old and die. You can’t accept death, and it manifests in feelings of hostility and immature acts of stupidity. It doesn’t matter how much you lie about your age or how many Botox injections you get, you will get old and if you live long enough, and you will end up looking your age.

Even our childhood heroes are getting up there. Mick Jagger, who turns 71 Saturday is a great-grandfather. And he’s been practicing yoga over 40 years.

Now, just because there’s (hopefully) no mosh pit in your living room, doesn’t mean your not a rebel yeller. To put it into perspective, it’s much like the Dharma Punx movement founded by Buddhist teacher and author Noah Levine. “It’s not about living for some future date. It’s about moment-to-moment awareness in this present time. That’s punk. The Buddha said his path leads aginst the stream. That’s punk.” 

And there’s more… Click here, and please don’t be annoyed you have to click anything just to read a freakin’ article. 

You wanna see dedication?

Screen Shot 2014-07-24 at 4.13.36 PM 2

4:30am. Yup. At least my title trouble is over… It’s good to have goals. But I’m so ass-tired from lack of sleep I’m pretty much useless, and I have to teach tonight. I hate being up when the sun is rising. It reminds me of thethe 80’s, the Sunstrip Strip and, well, other adventures. I’d go dig up a picture, but it would be embarrasing and stupid. I will say this about it, and plagerize myself:

I was 18, and I was in the “I-wear-all-black-have-black-hair-listen-to-The-Cure-get-drunk-in-the-morning-crash-the-car-starve-myself-and-act-like-I-might-open-a-vein-at-any-moment” phase.

Charming, I know ❤

 

 

Debbie Harry

“You know, the issues of humanity and what is fair treatment and good treatment of a fellow human being should not really be based on a personal sense of right and wrong or judgment.” ~Debbie Harry

That’s it. Gotta nap. ❤ ❤ ❤

 

Published by

Anne Clendening ♥

Anne Clendening is an L.A. chick, born and raised. She is a writer of creative nonfiction and other sordid tales of life, love and other L.A. adventures.

Tell me you dig it.

